The Child Within Us


All my friends have one, my roommate has one, the guy sitting in the other cube next to me, at work, has one, my cousin has one, and believe me, it wouldn’t take so long for Grandmas and Grandpas to join this race!! Well, if you have no clue on what this “one” is all about, then it’s called a “BLOG”!!

Not long ago did I gaze into an open sky and start explaining my friend that life exists in the outer space and that I did see quite a few beings myself!

He was puzzled.

“Are you crazy? I talk about my blog and where the heck did this outer space come from?”, he asked me, rather irritated!

“Well, my dear, all the bloggers are aliens to me” I retorted!

Alright!! All set! I made it at last!! I have one for me now!! 🙂 A sense of satisfaction!

And now comes the real question! What do I post in here? How often do I need to update this? How do I start with!

I always wondered what my first post in the blog should be, with a maelstorm of thoughts that goes in my mind quite often! But then, I always used to end up sleeping ! Now that I have one, I have to face the reality!! 😦

Jokes apart, the blogging bug bit me too! And I seem all excited!! get..set…go!!

And in terms of starting the blog, what could be more wonderful than sharing the “happiness of small things”!

Very recently I dared to think, or rather feel, beyond the world of dogmatic bosses, stringent deadlines and the murky cubicles. I discovered a “micro world” inside this huge and mostly crooked world. The world where the smallest of things matter the most, the world where ego or sorrow has no place, the world that gives you a chance to listen to the mellifluous rhythm of your heart strings, the world where your dreams once were, come true, the Walt Disney World Resort!!

Standing right in the middle of the Magical Kingdom I wondered if I were at the horizon of an innocent childhood and an ambitious adolscence. How would it be when you had a beautiful dream as a kid and that came true after you grew up? This is one world that makes you remember all your chirpy days, when you smiled with the nifty little Mickey Mouse, when you swam across the oceans with the Little Mermaid, when your heart went out for the beautiful Cinderella, when you were frightened, along with Snow White, of her step-mother for all her acrimonious deeds, when you thought an angel would make your doll into Pinocchio, when you looked at awe, upon the might of The Lion King!!

The list goes on! Oh boy! what a wonderful world was it!!

On a more serious note, this world teaches you how eternal optimism can rather lighten up the otherwise complex life, how important it is to take some time away for yourselves. Gazing at the sky from your mom’s lap, counting the stars, chatting with the wise old, limping into the woods, the first ever adventure as a child that made you feel you were a champion!! These were the simplest of things that engulfed you in boundless joy!!                                                                                           

There was this wonderful “Dreams come true” parade that had almost all the Disney characters you had known as a child come in front of you in life and vigour. Disney Land is not just all this! It gives you a rare chance to see what the otherwise impalpable happiness looks like! Yes, you got it right! You can feel the touch of happiness! The joy and excitement you see in the eyes of a kid hand in hand with the Mickey mouse! Even a till-then-whimpering child jumps with joy with the slight touch of the cartoon heroes.

Standing there in the middle of the Magical Kingdom I saw the twinkle in the eyes of the young and the old alike. Your stoic heart would definitely soften with the sight of a satisfied kid raving to make it in life, as he begins his journey amidst these glorious characters, not knowing how obnoxious this world would become to him one day 😉

For once, I discovered the kid in me! Thanks to Disney, Life is Beautiful! Or atleast, it seems so!

 

22 Comments

  1. arvind said,

    June 25, 2008 at 3:55 am

    welcome to wordpress… 🙂
    good start ..keep blogging ..
    good post…
    i still feel it would be so good if we could be just choldren and never grow up..
    we could be happy without any pressures of life.. 😛

  2. Manoj said,

    June 25, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Arvind, Thanks! I feel the same too 🙂
    I wish we get our childhood back…I do not like the board exams part of it though 😉

  3. arvind said,

    June 25, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    dude u are going too far :P/.i like being in class 1-5 ..no board exams..
    😀

  4. Parvatha said,

    June 25, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    really a nice Blog…the way you’ve described the disney world..hm…amazing 🙂

  5. Manoj said,

    June 25, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    @Arvind: Ha ha 🙂 Going by the present education system we needn’t be surprised if tomorrow they come up with board exam for class 5 😉

    @Parvatha: Thanks Parvatha 🙂 Keep visiting my blog and make it a nicer one 😉

  6. sateesh said,

    June 26, 2008 at 2:51 am

    Hi manoj,

    A perfect start. You are the leader in writing,
    i know, if u start something, it will be the best.

    But make sure that you will continue this, atleast!

    -waste

  7. Manoj said,

    June 26, 2008 at 2:54 am

    @Sateesh: Thanks Sateesh 🙂 I promise I would continue this..unlike my previous blog…lol..:D

  8. sateesh said,

    June 26, 2008 at 2:57 am

    will see how many days, it will take for your next post.

  9. PK said,

    June 26, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Rachha….mama…..

    Good work!!!

    I dont know, if I can write in my own language but …..Champesav ga!!!

  10. Manoj said,

    June 26, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    @PK: lol..ha ha…Thanks! 🙂

  11. Amit said,

    June 27, 2008 at 2:13 am

    Finally!!! welcome to the loony world. 😀
    I always thought blogging was done by people who don’t have anything better to do in life. 😐
    Guess, I am one of them now. :mrgreen:
    You are really lucky to have seen that beautiful world. One more place I must visit before I die. 🙂

  12. Manoj said,

    June 28, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    @Amit: lol..even i thought so 🙂 Most of all, people need patience to keep their blog updated 🙂 And yes, I feel I am lucky too, Disney Land was my dream come true. 🙂

  13. Vijay Kumar CH said,

    July 11, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    Hi Manoj…

    Needless to say…u r superb…:-)

    u r master in writing…:-)

  14. Suda said,

    July 17, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Hey!! What a start!!! Nice!!!

    Plz make may name Suda or Sudarshan your blogroll 🙂 Thanks.

    Ok now Iam going to read other posts.

    @Typo Arvind

    What are choldren ?? 😛 u r my bro in typos 😀

    Cheers
    Suda

  15. Manoj said,

    July 18, 2008 at 12:21 am

    @Suda- Thanks Suda! I have changed your name on my blogroll. Sorry for that 🙂

  16. Mahak said,

    July 19, 2008 at 7:58 am

    All the best..dear you’ve a great blog in the making….I am gonna read your three part NOT SO short story now…. 😀

    And I am yet to see Disneyland 😦

  17. cinnmint said,

    July 28, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Well Disney is also known for showing the ugly side of life in a beautiful way.. as you mentioned your love for reading, assuming you have read about the lit critics view of cinderella or snow white and what they symbolize..

    but nice thought for the very first blog..

  18. Manoj said,

    July 29, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    @cinnmint – I do accept with what you say about Disney, but I also feel that people get too judgemental if they see something good or sweet. I mean, Disney was/is so sweet as saccharine that slowly all of us (including me 🙂 )started finding faults with it. Don’t you think so? All is well as long as it won’t spoil the children 🙂

  19. cinnmint said,

    July 30, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Well anyone would be tempted to test the nature of extra sweet words.

    But I think Disney did intend to pass on these messages in some way. Like if you see the latest animated films like Ratatouille and Kung Fu Panda tend to take a scratch on some of the not so burning social issues you see…

    About spoiling children, I think I believe (and give my self the right to after all the long drawn research tht i have been involved into!!! :D) that there is no such thing as spoiling them. I think it’s important to understand the child’s interpretation more than assuming what he has absorbed.

  20. Manoj said,

    July 30, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    @cinnmint – Hmm..well, what can I say? You seemed to have done quite a bit of research. Respecting that, I agree with you 🙂

  21. Vinutha said,

    July 31, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    hey Crazy,

    Good start! and it has continued as well 😉
    Well, I agree to the point that Childhood was the best part of our life which given a chance we would like to re-live, I do not agree to the point that the current life or world is bad! Anyways every point of view differs and its our life to make it happy or otherwise. When we are living it, why not really ‘live’ in it? try to fill it with happiness?

    Your presentation is good in the blog.

  22. Manoj said,

    August 2, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    @Vinutha – Thanks for the comment 🙂 This was not meant to be a serious debate on Childhood vs Adults 🙂 Well, when I said that the world would be obnoxious after the children grow up, it was a relative expression 🙂 Naturally world looks good as a child rather than an adult 🙂


Leave a Reply

