Sunshine of life – Part II


Hiya! I am back with the next part of this short story.

                                                      ************

“Were someone else with you?” Megha asked the little girl as she waded her fingers through the girl’s dishevelled hair.

The girl could hardly speak anything. She opened her mouth, mumbled the name Suhaan again and rested her head on Megha’s arms. I rushed and got a bottle of water from a nearby shop.

The girl sipped some water but we realised she couldn’t gulp it. Megha dialled an emergency number from her mobile, that she always keeps handy. After a series of questions from the other side I understood that they were about to send an ambulance.

I suddenly heard a dominating voice from behind the crowd. A tall person with sharp features! Ahem! Here is the cop for you. He gave a doubtful glance at the crowd and enquired about the girl. We told him that the little girl could not have been alone and that how she mumbled a name Suhaan.

He enquired the crowd and a few shops around but couldn’t figure out who Suhaan is.

Megha called her home and explained the scene. “Don’t worry papa, Nihaal is with me”, I heard her telling before she disconnected the call.

The ambulance arrived and we decided to accompany the girl to the hospital.

“Sir, I need your mobile number” the cop asked me. He was rather polite. “Well, I am Himesh Singh, Assistant Police inspector”. I shook hands with him, exchanged the pleasanteries and gave my number to him.

“Good to see youngsters like you!” He thought he gave a complement. ” I will make a quick enquiry on Suhaan and meet you at the hospital soon”.

                                          ****************************

We were half way to the hospital. Megha looked into my eyes.I blinked my eyes assuringly.
I felt the brush of a soft palm on my elbow. I saw the little girl trying to talk to me.
I touched her palms and kissed her on the cheeks, “Everything will be alright!”.

She took five coins, a rupee each, from the pocket of her coat and muttered, “Give this to Suhaan, bhayya, please”.
She gabbled in broken words. I took the coins from her and looked at Megha.

“Hopefully the cop finds about Suhaan”, Megha sighed.

                                             *********

It had been two hours outside the operation theater that had a grim ambience. All we knew was that the little girl had multiple fractures and blood loss.

We sat there on a bench all through the while. Megha looked tensed. I realised we haven’t really talked for a while now.
                                              **********

“Hello Mr. Nihaal”, I heard a startling voice from across the corridor. I saw Himesh approaching us. He had a confident gait. He was accompanied with a lean, bearded old man with a withered and pale face.

“I finally traced this man. He is the father of the little girl. By the way her name is Simi and Yes, Suhaan is her brother”, Himesh declared, ‘He works as a day labour at a construction site”.

“There is a bad news too”, he said in a low voice, “we couldn’t trace Suhaan”.

I nodded my head and looked at the old man. He made a face that is completely weary of emotions.

                                               **********

The doctor came out of the operation theater. He looked at us, smiled and said that the girl is on her way to recovery.

I didnt care to look at the old man at this point of time. I do not know why. All I could think of is home. I shook hands with the cop and left for home with Megha.
                                              
                                               ***********
The next day at the college was quite hectic. Social Psychology, Crime and Justice, Science, technology and society..the most boring classes on a boring tuesday. I dozed off in the back seats of the class. I felt fresh by the evening. I happen to be a member of the previleged “N-MARKS” team, the most happening one in the campus. We are six of us and we named our team by our initials. We gather at the college refreshment stall every evening, play pranks at each other, discuss about nothing important at lengths and finally get back home.

It was a usual tuesday evening. Kamal was busy playing yet an other prank with Sunaina. We all remember how it went  awry and ended up Sunaina in tears the last time. Sunaina is the most sensitive of all. Abhi and Rihaan usually end up cajoling Sunaina.
                                           
We had a hearty guffaw at the joke played by Rihaan on the Psychology professor as my mobile began ringing.

                                                ***********

“Hello Sir, Sorry to disturb you, this is Himesh Singh”, a dejected voice came from the other side, “I want to inform you the bad news that Simi’s father was found dead in his house this noon”. He made a pause. I understood he had something to continue, “It was a suicide!”.

                                                                                 ——- to be continued

 

5 Comments

  1. Amit said,

    July 3, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Hmm…its turning into a mystery. 🙂
    Waiting for the next one.

  2. arvind said,

    July 4, 2008 at 9:45 am

    OH my god..never expected this part to end like this..
    whens the next part… 🙂

  3. Manoj said,

    July 5, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Amit and Arvind, thanks for your modest comments for my art movie kinda short story 😀 I will be posting the next part in a day or two. Am in Colorado trip and hence I have limited access to internet. BTW, we were doing white water rafting this morning. Quite an adventure 😉 I will be blogging about it after the last part of thi story is done 🙂 So keep watching this space 😀

  4. Amit said,

    July 5, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Ahh!!! The advantages of a long weekend. 😀
    All my friends are partying as if its the last long weekend there. 😛

  5. Parvatha said,

    July 11, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    heart melting story!!!
    Lot of take aways from this story.


Leave a Reply

