Never say Goodbye!


 

When the lilting flowers envied our dance                      
when the chirping birds sang to our words
when the passing cloud looked at us and bowed
when the spouting water sounded like our laughter

Little did I know that seeds of distance it would sow
Never did I think my heart in pain would sink
Forever will my hopeful gaze wade through the time’s maze

Saying goodbye, in general, is quite dis-heartening. Not just for loved ones, but I have always found it difficult to bid farewell to anyone.

The waving hands of a father, the teary eyes of a mother, the uneasy silence of a friend…these are the subtle feelings that touch any heart.

16 Comments

  1. Sekhar said,

    July 19, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Hi Manoj, many thanks for visiting my blog today, and thanks for appreciating my little work.

    By the way Sateesh once mentioned about this blog of yours, but i casually visited it once.

    Man, are you a poet or what? I say you have a good flair for poetry. Keep it up, and thanks again for encouraging me 🙂

  2. Mahak said,

    July 19, 2008 at 7:55 am

    oh….very touching.I almost feel this poem…saying bye is very difficult…sometimes its best to be silent and move on….

  3. arvind said,

    July 19, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    wow cool poetry..
    a little secret .. i am the weakest when it comes to poem 😛

    by the way i have tagged u …

  4. Manoj said,

    July 19, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    @Sekhar – My pleasure 🙂 And Yes, I am a poet. William Wordsworth was my student 😀

    @Mahak – Thank you 🙂 I think itz tough to see someone leaving , even if one never maintained a very close relationship.

    @Arvind – mmm..so I will tag you next time and ask you to write a poem 😀 Thanks for tagging me and I will work on it 🙂

  5. Amit said,

    July 20, 2008 at 2:11 am

    Very touching. Its always so hard to do such a thing when you have such happy memories behind you.
    The worst part happens later, when you are not able to maintain contact because life gets to hectic. And then one fine day, while cleaning your attic, you stumble upon a few forgotten photos and realize what you have lost.

  6. vishesh said,

    July 20, 2008 at 2:14 am

    the memory will remain…

  7. Manoj said,

    July 21, 2008 at 12:18 am

    @Amit – Now that seems to come from an experience!! 😉 😀
    “when you are not able to maintain contact because life gets to hectic”
    Yes, it’s true, people don’t realize the importance of a relationship quite often. They tend to become busy, and priorities keep changing. There are quite a few people though, who maintain contacts very well.

    @Vishesh – Welcome and thanks for your comment. Perhaps memories are the only ones that remain. But who knows, like in the movie “Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind”, one day hospitals that claim to erase memories may come up 😀 Well, I have added you in my blogroll and be prepared to read my comments in your blog 🙂

  8. Vijay Kumar CH said,

    July 21, 2008 at 2:43 am

    Nice one Manoj…

  9. PK said,

    July 21, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Rachhal me Pichhal!!!!!

  10. Joel said,

    July 22, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Nice one buddy…! 🙂

  11. vishesh said,

    July 22, 2008 at 9:16 am

    lol thanks for adding me 🙂 looking forward to your comments 🙂

  12. Manoj said,

    July 22, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    @Joel – Thanks 🙂
    @Vishesh – I have visited your blog and I must say it’s a fairly nice one. Happy blogging 🙂

  13. Sakhi said,

    July 23, 2008 at 3:19 am

    nice and touching! 🙂 keep going!

  14. Manoj said,

    July 29, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    @Sakhi – Thanks 🙂

  15. Vinutha said,

    July 31, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Hmm.. what to say..it reminded me of those send-off moments (me to USA). I had never seen my parents and myself in such a situation ever before, my first trip away from them!!

  16. Manoj said,

    August 2, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    @Vinutha – 😀 I am happy that finally you had to cook yourselves and that you are missing “Ghar ka Khaana”…unlike in Bangalore 😀 ha a..OK I am just kidding 🙂


Leave a Reply

