The Big Thing!


“Did you hear about this showroom, Ben?” John whispered. I looked at the giant scintillating glass walls of the showroom and quickly turned towards John.

“A lot is being talked about this showroom off-late”, John said as he widened his eyes.

“No one has really seen it so far, buddy”, Jeff slammed, “the less you think of it, the better”.

John gave a silly look at Jeff. Even I wondered how Jeff never heeded to this discussion anytime.

“No escape from it Jeff”, John retorted, “It’s happening tonight and they say it’s so big it can track you down wherever you are”.

I smelled an eerie scent in the air as we stood against the blinding lights of the showroom.

                            ******************

It is 10 in the night and I still could not sleep. I could hear my heart thumping. A wave of anxiety gripped me. I helped myself with a glass of water, but that did not quench my thirst. I sat on my bed and looked outside the window pane.

I walked towards the window pane and peeped outside. 

It is pitch dark outside with no sight of moon in the sky.

The streets seemed unusually silent. I rested my chin on the window frame and started thinking about what John told me this evening. My heart started pounding fast.

I suddenly felt a strange eerie bright thing creeping towards me. A giant curtain of mist started drifting towards my window. I have seen the street lights slowly being engulfed by its spooky wings. As I tried to draw my head back, I felt an uneasy brush on my neck. All I could see is just the shadow of a giant arm with long nails hanging all over. My heart almost thumped. I quickly closed the window pane, jumped onto my bed and hid inside the comforter.

I started gasping but did not have the guts to get the glass of water that is right beside the window.
                                   
                        ********************

An hour passed by. I slowly pulled myself out of the comforter and looked at the window dubiously. There seem to be no trace of the mist now. I walked towards the table beside the window and took the glass of water into my hands. I looked outside maintaining a distance from the window. As I took a sip of water I put forth my heavy steps towards the window. “Bravo, my boy!”, I patted myself. I looked at the street lights outside and for once everything looked calm again. I took a deep breath and sipped the water again when I realized that something knocked the window pane.

The knock sent shivers through my spine. My thumping heart forced the glass out of my hand. The water splashed on my feet as the glass lay broken on the floor. Fangs of shock tied my limbs as I stood there startled. An other knock on the window pane seemed to work like a miracle and set loose the fangs of shock around me. I felt I almost breathed out a gale when I realized the long arm to be nothing but an overgrown branch of the coconut tree.

I wiped my sweaty forehead and closed my eyes for a while. I heard murmurings from the hall downstairs. I opened the door of my room and stood beside the railings of the steps that lead down to the hall. It was mum and dad. They did not sleep too!

“Just few more hours for the D-day, Sara” dad sighed and continued, “and the whole town is going to become a prey for this luscious thing”.

“I waited so long, David”, mum replied, “and I have no more patience to see the damn thing”. I noticed my anxious and worried mum as she pressed her palms against her cheeks.

Dad put his arms around Mum and cajoled her, “Don’t worry sweetie! It’s going to be alright. Let’s hope everything ends well”.

                        ********************

A sudden bang at my door woke me up.

“Ben, we gotta hurry”, Dad almost barged in, “we have no time left!”
A flurry of events happened and I realized myself sitting in our car. The car dashed through the mysterious darkness of the night as it pushed all the houses and street lights behind us.
“We are going to face it, Ben”, Mum sounded anxious.
We travelled for about two miles and the car stopped at the Showroom that John talked about. Mom and Dad got out of the car and banged the doors in haste. I ran behind them, worried!

My inner voices told me that something strange is going to happen. For once I wanted to stop Mum and Dad from rushing towards the mysterious Showroom. I shouted but the sound did not come out. I followed them helplessly.

It is still dark and no one seemed to be in the Showroom. The door was closed and we felt like dwarfs in front of the huge glass doors. I stared at the Showroom with fear.

An hour passed by and soon the whole town gathered there. Strangely no one seemed to talk to each other. Mum and Dad looked far more tensed.

                           ******************

It is almost 5:30 in the morning. There seem to be no trace of Sun yet. Probably the Sun too is terrified to spread its light. There was an impatient buzzle in the crowd that was silent till then. I saw two blinding lights roaring and gushing against the darkness. The crowd came to an alert and the buzzling sound increased. The two lights of a truck approached us and came to a screaching halt. The crowd grew impatient as they saw the cartons being carried inside the Showroom. I turned to Mum and Dad. Mum brushed my hair and tried containing her anxiety. The cartons went in until the truck was emptied. The truck driver took the last carton inside the showroom.

It is 6AM now and we haven’t heard anything from inside the showroom. The truck driver came out and giggled at me.

We stood just near the Showroom’s door. The driver looked at my dad, nodded his head, smiled and left in a haste.

                    ******************

I almost dozed off . As I stood there , the lights inside the showroom suddenly glowed just like the anxiousness of the frenzy crowd. Mum and Dad rushed in. I tried to catch them up but the crowd was so heavy that I said Mum that I would stay outside. Mum gave a glance at me but didn’t seem to feel the pertinence of taking me inside the Showroom.

I stood there at the door so very confused. The crowd formed a long line. It is 6:30 in the morning and the Sun seemed to extend its glory on the crowd. I wondered what the D-day meant! What is the “big thing” that the whole town is going to fall prey to? As questions started fighting inside my mind, I remembered what John told Jeff last evening.

“No escape from it Jeff. It’s happening tonight and they say it’s so big it can track you down wherever you are”.

Someone caught me by my shoulder. I was startled for a moment and then turned back. It was Dad. Mum stood beside him holding a box tightly in her hands, as if she is protecting it from a prowling tiger.

“Did you see this thing, Ben?” Dad looked excited, “Did you see what Mum has in her hands? You wont realize we are the first ones to make it in the town”.

“Oh Honey, I can’t believe this”, tears trickled down Mum’s eyes as she put “The thing” in my hands. Dad looked far more emotional. I looked at the sleek thing in my hands with awe!

Someone screamed and I turned back.

“Oh my God! The little big thing, in my hands, at last”, a guy shouted, just coming outside the Showroom, “My sweet little iPhone 3G with GPS, that tracks me down wherever I go”!!

The frenzy went on as each time the huge glass walls of the showroom stood witnessing the anxiety of the people for the “newly born”!!

                           ****** The End ******

20 Comments

  1. Sakhi said,

    July 23, 2008 at 3:18 am

    ha…ha…ha…. 🙂 and i thought you were going to get a new car! 🙂 cool!

    BTW adding yuo to my blog roll! 🙂

  2. Sekhar said,

    July 23, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Nice piece of tale to depict the arrival of the iPhone & a well-created suspense. Keep it up 🙂

    By the way I would like to ask 2 questions:-
    1. Is this a fiction?
    2. Is this your original craft?

  3. Lively said,

    July 23, 2008 at 3:51 am

    Gripping narration. A story very well done.
    Came here through Nita’s blog.

  4. Xylene said,

    July 23, 2008 at 4:04 am

    you write well.
    But all this for an iphone.? 🙂

  5. vishesh said,

    July 23, 2008 at 7:12 am

    clever me,i guessed it right 🙂 i want one too 😦

  6. arvind said,

    July 23, 2008 at 9:55 am

    lol .
    was wonderful man. ..
    in between i had the feeling tha i wass reading dean knooltz novel … 😉

    i want it too .. 😦
    how much does it cost by the way … ??

  7. Manoj said,

    July 23, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    @Sakhi – Thanks for dropping in and adding me to your blogroll. I added you too 🙂

    @Sekhar – Thanks 🙂 All the posts in my blog unless otherwise specified are my creation. So this is my original craft 🙂 And yes, this is a fiction. Few “real life” scenes here in US inspired me in writing this.

    @Lively – Thanks, I added you to my blogroll 🙂

    @Xylene – Thanks 🙂 Yes, all that for an iPhone. That was the whole intention.

    @Vishesh – Oh yes! Clever you are, for sure :). Even I don’t have an iPhone yet. I have a contract with T-mobile until next month. So iPhone for me is only after next month 😦

    @Arvind – Thanks a bunch BTW who is “Dean Knoolt”? (now please dont call me dumb, I really do not know him). Fine, all you guys will definitely get an iPhone. I will buy one and put its picture in my blog 😉 An 8GB iPhone costs $200. The prices are slashed to almost half.

  8. Sekhar said,

    July 23, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Thanks for answering the questions Manu.
    Now I must say that’s a terrific piece of writing. Kudos, and keep it up 🙂

  9. Lively said,

    July 24, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Hey, thanks for blogrolling me.

  10. vsmelarkod said,

    July 25, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Nice… I guessed it right towards the end of it. Well written Mon Frere. Is the next one going to be a fiction too? 😉

  11. arvind said,

    July 25, 2008 at 9:34 am

    dean knooltz is famous horror story writer… 😛
    read 2-3 of his books..
    😛

    200 $ ??
    MAN thats cheap ..just 8k … 😦 my W810 i costed me around 10k

    :((
    8 GB thats awesome…
    i want it 😦
    will ask my sis to get when she comes 😀

  12. Amit said,

    July 26, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    The part where the story was turning into a horror story was great. It was quite eerie. 🙂 And once Mom and Dad reached the store with you, I somehow knew its the iphone. 😀 But, the way the story was presented was great.
    p.s. So there. Now I am striking your name off from the Boo-hoo group. 😆

  13. cinnmint said,

    July 28, 2008 at 7:21 am

    LOL it was quite obvious it was the iphone 😀 .. but well written. It was close to being a car.. but the big thing gave it away!

  14. Suda said,

    July 28, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Oye long post man!!! I am yet to read your previous ones and you have this one here…………. I am lagging in reading yaar 😛

  15. Manoj said,

    July 29, 2008 at 1:26 am

    @Sekhar – Thanks 🙂

    @Lively – You are welcome 🙂

    @vsmelarkod – The next one is on 🙂 check out for yourselves 🙂

    @Arvind – Thanks for the info 🙂 And yes, Iphone is cheap now. But I heard some features like bluetooth, GPS, software upgrades wouldn’t work in India. Let me know if you found something different 🙂

    @Amit – Thanks Amit 🙂 I guess I shouldn’t have used the word “showroom” 😀 And keep my name in the “boo hoo” group. It acts as a remainder 😀

    @cinnmint – Thanks 🙂

    @Suda – lol 😀 take your own time 🙂

  16. Vinutha said,

    July 31, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Really dint had the patience to read through 😉 I read the title, the first few lines and got confused with the names, cos your name is Manoj 😉 then the end!! But didnt take much time to realize it was fiction 😉

  17. Manoj said,

    August 2, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    @Vinutha – Thanks for all your patience 🙂 Welcome to the blog 🙂

  18. Poonam said,

    August 12, 2008 at 2:45 am

    The second section reminded me of Roald dahl’s book BFG. But in the book, little girl is actually picked up from window by big, friendly giant.

    I must say, that was lot of trouble for a iphone 😛

  19. Manoj said,

    August 12, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    @Poonam – Thanks for your comment! Welcome to the blog 🙂 The whole idea is to make this Iphone frenzy a pun of sorts 🙂

  20. August 13, 2008 at 2:29 am

    I got that all right! 🙂


Leave a Reply

