Not like any other day!


“I don’t know Vimal, I can’t talk right now. It is not like any other day”, I cut the call and threw my mobile away. Yes, it was not like any other day and I didn’t seem to be in the best of my moods.The monotony of life, for some unknown reason, seemed to down my spirits that day. I felt bad for Vimal, but, by now, he is used to my terms.

I looked at the clock that kept on ticking so fast. I banged its glass frame, got hold of the two needles, and tried wrenching them.But, alas! The eternal arms of the time weren’t so submissive. Their loud alarm jeered me and wrang my conscience out of me, “Stop dilly dallying, it’s 9AM and get ready for the work”.

I gave a perfunctory look at my blazer and took out the company’s identity card from its pocket.The two buttons on the blazer stared at me as I left them in the lurch.

I tied my shoe lace tighter than I did anyother day. I opened the door,saw the sun lurking from behind the clouds, and started walking towards the bus stop. I felt that the head iwas so heavy for my neck to carry that it almost tilted. My lazy gait complemented my mood.

As I walked few blocks away I saw a snow flake dangling in the air. I took it onto my palm and wondered at its amazing complex shape. I looked up at the sky and it showered its glory on my face. The flurries danced down to the earth as I opened my mouth.

I jumped and danced and tried catching the snow flakes. I saw the trees giggling as the snow trickled into their branches. The snow slowly settled onto the ground and spread its bright carpet all across. I saw two squirrels rolling in the snow. Oh boy! If I were a squirrel too!

I felt a thump at my back. I turned back and saw a kid with snow balls in his hands. He threw it onto my face this time. I wiped off, digged my fingers and took a lump of snow.

The little boy giggled and started running way. I followed him with the snow ball in my hand. I saw my bus leaving but didn’t seem to care, for, I really thought that it was not like any other day!

12 Comments

  1. Sakhi said,

    July 29, 2008 at 12:18 am

    hey, you put a smile on my face! This happens to everybody i guess! And the little treasure of nature gets us back on “life”. 🙂

  2. Lively said,

    July 29, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Happiness lies in little things which we tend to ignore seeming busy with mundane stuff. If only we pause to look at the stuff which can truly make us happy and make us smile….

  3. arvind said,

    July 29, 2008 at 1:59 am

    wow. ..wonderful..
    sometimes small things can make u really happy..
    i have never witnessed snow 😦

  4. Sekhar said,

    July 29, 2008 at 5:08 am

    Nice post, and equally good pics Manu.
    I am happy that you are enjoying the snow there. Just the way I am doing it with rain here.
    Lets enjoy the nature like no other day 🙂

  5. vishesh said,

    July 29, 2008 at 7:22 am

    i have never felt snow…

  6. Manoj said,

    July 29, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    @Sakhi – Thanks 🙂 You are right! Nature has it all!

    @Lively – I sometimes wonder where all of us are running to in the life leaving behind these treasures.

    @Arvind – Thanks 🙂 Yes, small things always bring the biggest of joys in life 🙂

    @Sekhar – Thanks 🙂 The above incident hapened few months back when it was snowing. Being summer, it’s quite warm now 🙂 I just remembered those beautiful snowy days 🙂

    @Vishesh – Let us know what you think when you feel the snow 🙂 It is a feeling that everyone should experience atleast once. Especially, the first few flurries of the season 🙂

  7. Xylene said,

    July 30, 2008 at 12:45 am

    You do have a skill in writing.
    Awesome.

  8. Manoj said,

    July 30, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    @Xylene – Thanks 🙂

  9. Vinutha said,

    July 31, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Hey buddy, this seems to be the answer to your first blog!!

  10. Amit said,

    August 2, 2008 at 5:41 am

    I have not witnessed snow yet. 😦
    Nature has its own way of bringing us back on track. Sometimes when you are sad or angry, a sight of a small kid smiling at you takes away all the anger.
    Very well written. 🙂

  11. Manoj said,

    August 2, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    @Amit – Thanks 🙂 Letz move India a little above…away from equator 🙂

  12. cinnmint said,

    November 6, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    awwwwwwwe…u shud have this post… all the gloominess wud have vanished i say:)


Leave a Reply

